Instagram is trying out a new feature that will allow users to remove followers.
A company spokesperson confirmed to the Verge that Instagram is currently testing the tool.
Previously, users could only delete followers if they made their profile private. Otherwise, they could block specific accounts.
The 'remove follower' feature, which has been rumored for several months, would show an 'x' next to a person's username, where you can manually prevent them from following you.
Clicking the 'x' would trigger a window to appear, prompting the user to click 'Remove' or 'Cancel.'
It also says: 'Instagram won't tell [username] they were removed from your followers.'
Social and digital media consultant Matt Navarra tweeted out what appears to be a screenshot of the new tool.
Many have suggested that the feature would be useful for people who want to prevent old friends, ex-boyfriends or ex-girlfriends or employers from peering into your Instagram account.
It's also a sneakier way of preventing them from seeing your content, rather than outright blocking someone.
That said, it won't prevent creepy users from viewing your Instagram account - it'll only keep them from commenting on your posts.
The feature comes as Instagram has rolled out other features aimed at letting users control their experience on the app.
In May, Instagram rolled out a mute button that lets you ignore people without upsetting them.
The feature lets you remove people's posts from your news feed without the risk of them finding out.
To mute someone's account, tap the menu button in the corner of one of their posts.
From there, select 'mute' to stop their photos from popping up in your news feed - the user will not be notified that you have muted them.
You can also select 'mute posts and stories' to also block their Instagram stories from appearing in the app.
You can also mute posts and stories by pressing and holding on a story in your tray, or from a profile.
Additionally, the firm is said to be testing a 'Do Not Disturb' feature on Instagram and Facebook.
It would let users turn off notifications from the apps for anywhere between 30 minutes and one day, or whenever they choose to turn them back on.