TESCON At 20 ; Two Decades Of Sefless Activism And Commitment

Two decades ago, at the Independence Hall of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, celebrated statesman and Ghana’s Ex-President, H.E John Agyekum Kufuor inaugurated the Tertiary Students Confederacy of the New Patriotic Party (TESCON), undoubtedly the most vibrant political youth group in our Country today.

After the 1992 and 1996 elections, the NPP needed to harness its vital human resource at the Tertiary education level in building a formidable front to wrestle power from the NDC. It was this consensus that heralded the formation of TESCON in January 2000 ahead of the general elections in December. True to the vision and rationale behind its formation, TESCON played a pivotal role in the NPP's Victory in the 2000 general election. It has since then played key roles in successive elections, establishing itself as one of the most vital components of the NPP's electoral machinery.

20 years down the line, TESCON has established itself as a generational pillar ; a training ground for most of the young political leaders we have in our Country today. It has today become a part of the NPP's mainstream organizational structure with TESCON forming part of the the party's electoral college at all key levels of organization. Today, it remains one of the most progressive units of our party which is training many budding talents of our tradition.

These huge gains after two decades are indeed worth celebrating. Today, we salute the young men and women led by Francis Asenso-Boakye, the inaugural president who rose to the ocassion in the year 2000 to inaugurate TESCON.

Their efforts birthed the most progressive youth front in our Country and our tradition will forever be grateful to them. We also salute all of you wonderful men and women, past and present leaders and activists of TESCON who have kept the faith and brought TESCON this far.

We are equally grateful to the many stalwarts and figures in our party who have provided immense support and guided the TESCON journey all these years. We are grateful to H.E Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo, President of the Rupublic.

To Top