NPP’s Race… 9 Names For President Pop Up

The heat is on and various factions and groups in New Patriotic Party (NPP) are throwing up names of their preferred presidential candidates. While some of the potential candidates have already announced their intentions others are playing the waiting game. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo, the 2012 presidential candidate is yet to confirm that he will join the contest. His camp says that if for some reason he does not throw his hat in, he will back his deputy Dr. Mahamond Bawumia. Dr. Richard Anane, a close ally of former President Kufour was the first potential to announce his intention of joining the race. Since then Alan Kyeremateng also a Kufour ally and Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku have also indicated that they want to be the presidential candidate of the NPP for the 2016 elections. Other names which have been thrown into the selection pot include Honourable Kofi Osei Ameyaw, Joe Ghartey, former Attorney-General, Isaac Osei, a former diplomat and Boakye Agyarko, a former New Jersey Banking Mongul. All in all nine names have so far popped up.