Portuphy Takes Bold Step Towards NDC Chairmanship Slot

Sympathizers and heavyweights of the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC) across the country are expected to throng Nima, a suburb of Accra to offer their unflinching support to Mr. Kofi Portuphy, who will officially declare his bid to contest for the National Chairmanship position of the party on Tuesday July 22, 2014. Scores of NDC party members from all the nine regions are expected to voluntarily join their colleagues in the Greater Accra Region to declare their support for the National Coordinator of the National Disaster Management Organization (NADMO) who has been tipped as the person to unseat current National Chairman, Dr.Kwabena Adjei. “We are all going to Accra on Tuesday to tell the whole NDC that Kofi Portuphy is our man for the chairmanship position. He has done a lot for the party and this is the time for us to recognize his contribution to the great NDC over the years”, Eastern Regional Organizer of the party, Mr. Bismark Tawiah Boateng remarked. Mr. Kofi Portuphy, described by party grassroots as a true party man will on Tuesday declare his intentions to contest the chairmanship position which will see party stalwarts, Mr. Dan Agbodakpi and incumbent party chairman battling it out. Even before he officially announces his interest, various groupings within the NDC have openly come out to clamour for his coming. Last year, a group within the NDC, christened ‘Eastern for Portuphy (EFoP), Friends of Portupy in the Ashanti and Volta regions announced their support for the NADMO Coordinator. As part of activities preceding the main event, a group calling itself, “Friends of Papa Pee’’ on Saturday embarked on a massive clean-up exercise at Nungua, a suburb of Accra. Recently knighted by the International Civil Defence Organization (ICDO) with the international order of civil defence for outstanding service, Sir Kofi Portuphy has served his party in various capacities including head of Cocoa Evacuation Taskforce in the early days of the 31st December Revolution, National Vice Chairman of NDC, Head of Election of NDC among others.