Doe Adjaho, Martey Newman Receive National Honours

President John Mahama has charged Ghanaians to remain committed to the cause of national development and to learn from many of the country's heroes who have played diverse roles in development of the country.

The president made the comment during the National Honours and  Award Ceremony at the International Conference Centre.

In all, 33 individuals are being honoured for their meritorious service to the state, Joy News' Emefa Ewoenam Atiamoah-Eli reported. Atiamoah-Eli said the awardees were selected for their commitment and service to the nation at the District and National levels, and across various sectors including educatiol, security, politics and economy.

The awardees include the Speaker of Parliament Edward Doe Adjaho, former chief of staff, Henry Martey-Newman. Others are former Inspector General of Police Mohammed Alhassan and his predecessor Paul Tawiah Quaye. This is not the first time the state has organised such a ceremony.

In 2008, the erstwhile Kufuor administration organised a similar award ceremony to honour key individuals who have played diverse roles in the development of the country. The ceremony is to encourage all Ghanaians to emulate the good works by the awardees.