2016 VGMA Nominees - Full List

The official list of nominees for the 2016 VGMA Awards scheduled for May 7, has been released by the Board of Ghana Music Awards and the organisers, Charterhouse.

The Organisers last week announced some changes to this year’s event, after announcing the disqualification   of Dancehall artiste, Shatta Wale.

Meanwhile, among the likes of Sarkodie, EL, Kofi Kinata who have had more than two nominations, Highlife artiste, Bisa Kdei, who’s highly tipped to sweep home more awards, has five nominations.

Changes in this year’s awards

The Board among others scrapped the Gospel Album of the Year category for this year’s awards.

The organisers explained that the gospel albums submitted were not enough and those that were submitted did not have the minimum requirements of three hit songs.

The Board thus noted that, gospel albums will now compete with other genres.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards has also been merged with MUSIGA Merit Award this year, the organisers announced.

They explained that the decision was taken because both awards represented the same thing.
As part of the changes, there will also not be an award for the Music for Development Award this year.

The Awards Night is scheduled for May 7 at the Accra International Conference Centre. This time around, there wouldn’t be the Industry Awards Night which usually precedes the main Awards Night.

Below is the full list of the nominees

Artiste Of The Year



Bisa Kdei


SP Kofi Sarpong


Most Popular Song Of The Year

Skolom- VVIP ft Sena Dagadu

Mansa- Bisa Kdei

Aporsor- Nicholas Omane Acheapong

Go Higher-Stonebwoy

Ekikime- Wisa ft Luther

Mi Naa bo po- EL

Ye wo Krom- Atom

Susuka Kofi Kinataa

Album of The Year



Elom- EL

Breakthrough- Bisa Kdei

I Believe- SP Kofi Sarpong

Gospel Song of The year

Hour by Hour – SP Kofi Sarpong ft Joyce Blessing

Yoboyo – Kofi Gyan

W’ow nkwa wo wor Ade – Mary Owusu

Hyebere Sesafuor – Obaapa Christie

Aporsor – Nicholas Omane Acheampong

Gospel Artiste of the Year

Obaapa Christie

Joe Mettle

Nicholas Omane Acheampong

Patience Nyarko

DSP Kofi Sarpong


Highlife song of the Year

Take Away – Acka Blay ft Cabum

Hw3 – Becca

Mansa – Bisa Kdei

Pimpinaa – Obrafuor ft Bisa Kdei

M’akoma – R2bees

Susuka – Kofi Kanata

Alewa – Ofori Amponsah ft Sarkodie

HIP HOP Song of the Year

All Black – E.L ft Pappy Kojo, Joey B

Fire Bon Dem – Flowking Stone

Yakubu – Kwaw Kese

Hand to Mouth – Sarkodie

Nineteen Ninety – Omar Sterling

Ay3 Late – Pappy Kojo ft Sarkodie

HIPLIFE Song of the Year

Crusade – Donzy ft Kofi Kinaata

Ye Wo Krom – Atom

Koko – E.L

Ekiki Me – Wisa ft Luther

Skolom – VVIP ft Sena Dagadu


Serwaa Akoto – Blakk Rasta

It’s So Crazy – De Voice

Hold Me Now- MzVee

Go Higher – Stonebwoy

Holiday – Ak Songstress

Fire – Jupitar ft Stonebwoy

Best Female Vocalist

Boom Boom Beat – Adina

Me Do Wo -Irene Loghan

Hold Me Now – MzVee

Ego Bee – Nana Yaa

Sarkcess Story – Efya

Dumb Drum – Yaa Yaa

Best Male Vocalist

Afiyie – Go Gaga

De Voice – It’s Crazy

Knii Lantey – Thinking Out Loud

Pat Thomas – Bra

Mugeez – Concert Party

Akwaboah Jnr – Me Wu Afro

Pop Song of The Year

Only – Fuse ODG

Gboza – R2Bees ft Davido

Nyedzilo – Edem ft Reekado

Banks Abofra – MzVee ft Efya

Coastal Vibes – Adina ft Trigmatic

Mi Naa Bo Po – E.L

Producer of the Year

Mo Beat – Skolom

Bisa KDei/Kayawa – Mansa

Kwadwo Akwaboah – Aporsor

Beatz Dakar – Go Higher

E.L – MI Naa No Bo Po

Dr. Ray – Ye Wo Krom

King Dee – Susuka

Record of the Year

Coastal Vibes – Adina ft Trigmatic

Abofra – MzVee ft Efya

Concert Party – R2Bees

Bra – Sarkodie ft Pat Thomas

Dumb Drum – Yaa Yaa

Shine A Light – Rocky Dawuni

Forget Dem – M.anifest

Song Writer of the Year

Rex Omar – Paapa

Knii Lantey – beautiful Virgo

Kofi Kinaata – Susuka

MzVee, Richie & Efya – Abofra

Obrafour – Nkontompo

Stonebwoy – Go Higher

Best Group of the Year






Best Rapper of the Year

E.L – King Without A Crown

Flowking Stone -Fire Bon Dem

Omar Sterling – Nineteen Ninety

Pappy Kojo – Ay3 Late

Sarkodie – Hand to Mouth

Best Collaboration of the Year

Skolom – VVIP ft Sena Dagadu

Mewu – Sarkodie ft Akwaboah Jnr

Ay3 Late – Pappy Kojo ft Sarkodie

Ekiki Me – Wisa ft Luther

Crusade – Donzy ft Kofi Kinaata

Pimpinaa – Obrafour ft Bisa KDei

Best Music Video of the Year

Shelele – E.L

Nkontompo – Obrafour

Dumb Drum – Yaa Yaa

Girlfriend – Edem

Crazy for God – Preachers

New Artist of the Year

Nero X





Kofi Kinaata

Highlife Artiste Of The Year

Bisa Kdei

Ofori Amponsah


Nero X

Africa Artist of the Year



Korede Bello

Harry Song