Sixth Parliament Would Be Dissolved At Midnight- Speaker

The Speaker of Parliament Rt. Hon. Edward Doe Adjaho this afternoon declared the Sixth Parliament of the Fourth Republic dissolved from 12 midnight today to make way for the inauguration of the 7th Parliament. 

Making his last closing remarks in the house as Speaker, Rt. Hon Edward Doe Adjaho commended the leadership and members of the Sixth Parliament as well as staff of the house for their full cooperation with him during his tenure.

He hoped the incoming Parliament will work on bills which could not be passed by the Sixth Parliament. He commended Civil Society organisations which supported Parliament in diverse ways to make the work of the house successful.

The Majority Leader and MP for Nadowli / Kaleo, Hon Alban Bagbin commended Rt. Hon Edward Doe Adjaho for his impressive performance as well as members of Parliament for their hard work. 

According to Hon Bagbin, a total of 75 bills and 66 Instruments were passed by the house. He mentioned the Right to Information Bill and the Property Right of Spouses Bill as some of the bills which unfortunately were not passed by the house and hoped the incoming 7th Parliament will work on them.

The Minority Leader and MP for Suame Hon Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu also commended the Speaker of Parliament for a good job done as well as members of the house for their diligence and hard work.

He advocated more training programs to be organized for members of Parliament especially the new MPs to help build their capacity.