Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Seven Others Go Unopposed

Eight out of the 44 sitting Members of Parliament (MPs) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Ashanti Region will go unopposed during the April 25, 2020 primaries of the party.

They include seven males and one female.

Barring any unforeseen circumstances, it could also mean that the MPs would be returning to the eighth Parliament of the Fourth Republic on January 7, 2021. Those seats are considered safe for the NPP in the region.

Per the list of candidates compiled by the regional office (available to the Daily Graphic), the MPs going unopposed are Messrs William Owuraku Aidoo, Afigya Kwabre South; Francis Manu Adabor, Ahafo Ano South East; Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum, Bosomtwe; Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Suame; George Boahen Oduro, New Edubiase; Kwame Anyimadu-Antwi, Asante Akim Central, and Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Manhyia South.

The MP for Afigya Kwabre East, Ms Mavis Nkansah Boadu, is the only female MP going unopposed and sure of returning to the next Parliament.

Female MPs

The party in the region had initially decided to let all female MPs go unopposed but the scramble for the nomination forms in most of the constituencies and the cry for the regional executive to make the contest more democratic compelled the executive to back down on the earlier decision.

In addition to Ms Nkansah Boadu, all the other four sitting MPs are also contesting their seats again.

The constituencies that have female sitting MPs are — Ms Patricia Appiagyei for Asokwa, Ms Joyce Adwoa Ako Dei for Bosome-Freho, Ms Ama Pomaa Boateng for Juaben, Miss Mavis Nkansah Boadu for Afigya Kwabre East and Miss Francisca Oteng Mensah for Kwabre East.


Out of the total of 119 candidates, there are 14 female candidates, representing 11.76 per cent of the candidates.

The constituencies that have female sitting MPs are Asokwa, Bosome-Freho, Juaben, Afigya Kwabre East and Kwabre East.

Competitive seats

Six of the constituencies could be described as very competitive based on the number of aspirants who have filed their nominations.

The constituencies that have five contestants filing their nominations and awaiting their vetting are Old Tafo, Afigya Kwabre North and Manso Nkwanta, Subin and Asante Akim South.

The Akrofuom Constituency has the highest number of seven candidates filing their nominations.


Four former MPs are seeking the nod from the NPP delegates for a return to Parliament. They are the former MP for Manso Nkwanta, Mrs Grace Addo, the only MP to have won the seat on two consecutive times in the history of the constituency; Josephine Hilda Addo for Kwadaso, Francis Addai Nimoh for Mampong and Kwadwo Baah Agyeman for Asante Akim North.