Tokyo 2020 Olympics: Selemon Barega Replaces Mo Farah As The New 10,000m Champion After Claiming Gold

Selemon Barega has been crowned as the new 10,000m champion after the London 2012 and Rio 2016 gold medal winner, Mo Farah, failed to qualify for this summer's Games.

World record holder Joshua Cheptegei was among the favourites to win the race, while Jacob Kiplimo fancied his chances after registering the fastest time in the world earlier this year at 26.33.93. 

However, it was Barega who asserted his dominance after the bell went and produced a final lap of 53.94 to bring home the gold medal for Ethiopia. 

Barega's final lap was enough to hold off Cheptegei and Kiplimo, who took home silver and bronze retrospectively. 

As a result, Barega has not only replaced Farah as the new Olympic champion, but has also followed in the footsteps of Kenenisa Bekele - who won gold at Athens and Beijing.