Approval Of 6 Ministers: Minority Stunned, Accuse Their Members Of Treachery And Greed

Muscles had been flexed and positions entrenched thus an epic battle, albeit on parliamentary grounds was expected on Friday, 24th March.

The Minority had earler reiterated that they would reject all the ministerial nominees.

But after hours of sharp disagreements that even resulted in a brief suspension, Parliament has finally approved President Akufo-Addo’s six ministerial nominees, much to the shock and displeasure of the Minority.

When on Thursday debate on the report of the appointments committee was concluded, it was expected that voting must of necessity take place. 

However, the Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin suspended sitting because the MPs from both sides failed to reach a consensus.

The Majority was accused of purposely delaying voting on the appointees, because they lack the numbers to get the ministers-designate approved.

With sitting suspended to give the leadership of the two sides the opportunity to come to an agreement, the Majority asked that seating arrangements, ballot box placements and others be altered.

Confident they were of upsetting the cart so much so that the Minority insisted the vote should go on.

But at the end of the voting process, Adansi Asokwa MP, Hon Kobina Tahir Hammond was confirmed as Minister for Trade and Industry with 154 yes votes as against 116 NO votes, while Dr Stephen Amoah was approved as Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry after polling 146 votes against 123 NO votes.

Member of Parliament for Abetifi, Bryan Acheampong was approved as the Minister of Food and Agriculture with 167 YES votes, and the Member of Parliament for Karaga, Mohammed Amin Adam, okayed as Minister of State at the Finance Ministry with 152 YES votes.

Stephen Asamoah Boateng is the new Minister for Religious and Chieftaincy Affairs, while Mr. Osei Bonsu Amoah heads to the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development as Minister of State, hsving garnered 149 YES votes.

Meanwhile, three members of Parliament missed out on the voting process.

The absentee MPs were; MP for Dome Kwabenya Sarah Adwoa Safo (NPP), James Gyakye Quayson MP for Assin North (NDC) and Basoah Phillip MP for Kumawu (NPP).